Unknown Cargo – A WWBH post

This post is part of the Writer Wednesday Blog Hop, a weekly meme designed to inspire creativity and encourage sharing of stories.

The hop is co-hosted by myself over at Reading, Writing and Everything in Between, Leanne Sype at Writings and Ruminations, Tena Carr at Jottings and Writings and Debb Stanton at Stanton Sunshine.

The challenge this week is to write a piece of flash fiction in up to 500 words, using two pictures supplied by Tena as inspiration. Both pictures need to be incorporated into your story somewhere.

My story for this week:

Unknown Cargo

20140409-132433.jpg‘See you later scruff-ball!’ The cat didn’t even stir as I finished packing my lunch into my rucksack. Instead, he just gazed at me with those soppy blue eyes, probably wondering what craziness I was up to now. His eyes closed gently as I gave him one last fuss around the ears, and I could just see him getting comfortable in my spot as I headed out the door.

        The sun warmed my back as I cycled to the depot, a matter of only ten minutes at this time in the morning. Stashing my bag, I headed to the briefing room to see what runs I had, and to get in my early morning coffee at the same time. Not for the first time I wondered if it was the same coffee that me and the guys were trekking all over the country, but somehow I doubted it. The company was too cheap for that kind of blend. And I most certainly wasn’t drinking the stuff that I’d been hauling around for the past few weeks. I had no idea what it really was, they wouldn’t tell me no matter how many times I asked, all they said was that I wouldn’t want to drink it.

        As I headed out to my ride, the other boys passed me on their way in.

        ‘Starting early again, Jim?’ called Sam.

        ‘Have to,’ I said, ‘I’ve got a long way to go.’

        Slinging my gear across the seats I got myself settled in. This was the only truck I took out these days so it was all set up for me already. I plugged the tunes in and was ready to go.

cropped-121212153743.jpg

       I drove all day but still didn’t make it to my destination. Even with scheduled rest stops I still had to pull over and call it a night. All I could do was get up in good time in the morning and get going again. The bed was comfortable enough, and I managed a few good hours sleep before being woken up. There was no rain or wind to speak of, but still the whole lorry, cabin and all, began shaking loudly back and forth. Rubbing my eyes, I fumbled around for my torch but a bright light shining all around illuminated everything.

        Pulling on a jacket I tried to jump out, but the handle and door wouldn’t budge. Throwing my full weight against it I remained trapped, with only the window to squint out of to see what was happening. Hovering above, a large oval shape sat motionless with its lights shining down. Just as quickly the light went out, and the shape disappeared into the night sky in silence.

        I fell out of through the door which had now been released, sprawling me onto the lay-by. The only evidence that anything had happened was the fill level of the tank, now sitting at empty. More terrifying than what I’d just witnessed, was just how I was going to explain this to anyone.

Word count 502.

6 thoughts on “Unknown Cargo – A WWBH post

  1. Interesting story – where did that coffee go? Just one thing, though, the text on the blog is so small I can’t read it until I’ve copied and pasted it over to a word document where I can read it perfectly.

  2. Pingback: #WWBH Blog Hop Kick-Off: May 21, 2014 | Jottings and Writings

  3. Pingback: Writer Wednesday Blog Hop – 5/21/2014 « STANTON SUNSHINE

  4. Pingback: Blog Hop Photo Reveal! | Writings and Ruminations

  5. I have the “Twilight Zone” music going through my head right now. So creepy! I loved your take on the prompt, Heather! This would do really well as fully developed story; I’d love to see what this cargo really is.

Leave a Reply

