Help me … – A WWBH post

This post is part of the Writer Wednesday Blog Hop, a weekly meme designed to inspire creativity and encourage sharing of stories.

The hop is co-hosted by myself over at Reading, Writing and Everything in Between, Leanne Sype at Writings and Ruminations, Tena Carr at Jottings and Writings and Debb Stanton at Stanton Sunshine.

 

It seems an absolute age since I last posted anything for this hop, pretty poor really considering I’m a co-host!

Oh well, I’m here again now, and I hope you enjoy what I’ve managed to come up with. I have to apologise for the super-rough state it’s in, but I really wanted to share it with you before the deadline passed.

The challenge this week is to write a piece in up to 500 words using one picture and five random words:

IMG_2855.JPG

Gunnysack, pathology, croquet, elate, human

My story:

Help me …

Please don’t go, please don’t go! I didn’t have the energy left to shout anymore. If they didn’t hear me when I was at my loudest, there wasn’t much hope that they’d hear me now. I’d dragged my broken body as far as I could, with more strength and determination than I’d thought was humanly possible. But now that strength was beginning to wane.

Trying to get myself to civilisation had been the only option for survival. Out here the phone signal was laughable, and that was if mine had even survived the night. It was probably in more pieces than I was. Dane had seen to that when he threw my gunnysack from the car on the way down here. At the time it’d been an annoying prank, but now I see it was all a part of his plan. How long he’d been plotting the whole thing though, I could only wonder. He’d seemed like such a nice guy as well; thoughtful, attentive. I guess you never can really know.

When the sirens rang out and the blue flashing lights came hurtling down the highway my heart felt almost elated, brimming with hope that I might make it out of here as more than just another body on a pathology slab.

They weren’t here for me I knew. I’d heard the crash of Dane’s car not long after he’d abandoned me, and saw the flames. A tiny piece of me was glad, of course, but it still didn’t help me much, not where he’d left me. The blue lights had flashed all through the night, growing brighter with every metre I pulled myself along. But they wouldn’t stay forever, and I was still too far into the trees to be seen from the road.

Shuffling on my elbows, my legs now numb, I gritted my teeth and willed myself to keep going. Glancing up, I caught sight of a paramedic hovering on the edge of the woods. My heart thudded in my chest as I realised this could be my only chance to be seen out here. Frantically, I looked around in the dawn light, searching for something to get his attention.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

        Ryan glanced around, checking he was far enough away from the crew before relieving himself. He knew he shouldn’t have crammed that last can of drink into him, but he hated waste. If he was honest with himself though, he needed to get away from the crash site this time. Twenty years in the business, and it still turned his stomach to see what some people did to themselves when they think they’re invincible.

        Making sure he was all zipped up, he was about to turn back when his foor knocked against something; or rather something knocked against his foot. Bending down, a croquet ball came to rest against his boot. Picking it up, he scanned the trees in front of him. Was that movement he just saw there? Just maybe …

Word count: 497

4 thoughts on “Help me … – A WWBH post

  1. Pingback: Writer Wednesday Blog Hop 9/17/2014 | STANTON SUNSHINE

  2. Pingback: #WWBH Kick-Off: Wednesday September 17, 2014 | Taini's Writings

  3. Pingback: Blog Hop Photo Reveal! | Writings and Ruminations

Leave a Reply

