A-Z Challenge · Books

Marian Keyes/Stephen King – #A-Z Challenge 2024


I really couldn’t decide on just one author for K so I’ve gone off piste and done two instead: Marian Keyes and Stephen King. They are two of my favourite authors and I just couldn’t leave either of them out.


At the start of 2020 I went on a bit of Marian Keyes marathon (sort of) and borrowed all the books that were available in the local library, one after the other.

A selection of the books I’ve read. All images taken from www.mariankeyes.com/books

Many of the books focus on the Walsh family, which has five daughters, and each one has their own story to tell. Like Rachel Joyce, it’s the characters in these books that really draw me in and I’m yet to finish one without crying at the end. A new one has just come out and I’m really trying to resist getting it right now … I already have so much to read!


This year I’ve embarked on a Stephen King-athon and I’m reading them all in order of their release. So far, I’ve read three out of over 90 of his novels and novellas so I think it may take me a while to get all the way through, but hey, it’s not a bad way to spend my time, right?

I’m currently reading The Stand, which is just over 1300 pages in total (I’m reading the complete and uncut edition 😏) and it’s taking me a lot longer to get through than my usual books. It’s in danger of seriously setting me back in my Goodreads Reading Challenge for this year! I persevere though; I don’t want to rush through it, I want to enjoy it and absorb it as I go. What else do we read for, if not for that?

Three and half done, only 90-odd to go … All images taken from www.goodreads.com

To check out more blogs taking part in the A-Z Challenge for 2024 head over to the main website where you can find out more. There’s plenty to choose from!

One thought on “Marian Keyes/Stephen King – #A-Z Challenge 2024

  1. I’m not familiar with Marian Keyes. I read my first Stephen King novel recently. I didn’t really like it but I was told it wasn’t one of his best. I’m too much of a wuss to read most of his books.

Leave a comment